Did I Mention That My Wife is a Great Painter?

Image

“All About the Ladder”
36×36 inches, Mollie Walker Freeman

Living an unconventional life has little merit in and of itself; for example, choosing to measure your wealth by the number of cats in your house. But my wife is unconventional in all the right ways. She has the ability to look at the world and see options that are outside of the box. If such an option seems right to her she is willing and strong enough to run with it, even though it may go against cultural (or sub-cultural) expectations.

After moving from Iowa to Georgia as a teen, she tested out of high school 2 years early after dropping out, because she found conditions at her new school to be regressive, both in terms of academics and race relations. Then she enrolled at the Kansas City Art Institute. She started out majoring in the ceramics department, but her instructors urged her to transfer to painting, since she kept making platters and painting on them. Eventually Mollie and I studied under the same painting instructor, Wilbur Niewald, who was a big influence on both of us. Of course, over the years our work has taken divergent directions, though we generally like the same artists, and in many ways share a similar artistic vision.

Image

Mollie is perhaps best known for her paintings of dancers in motion. Some of my favs:
Left – “Awake My Soul”, 24×36 inches; Middle – “Exult”, 36×48 inches; Right – “Joy Dance”, 24×36 inches

We’ve had five children together, which caused both of us to mostly shelve painting for a number of years. I pursued graphic design and illustration work in an attempt to bring in a regular income. Eventually I landed a decent job as an artist at Hallmark Cards. Mollie, in her usual outside-of-the-box way, home schooled our kids for several years, which we believe was a great investment in our children. However our inner city neighborhood seemed like a war zone at times, and we began praying and looking for an opportunity to relocate. Also, Independently of each other, we both eventually felt it was time to start painting again. During our last couple of years in Kansas City, several other interests crystallized for both of us as well, including a great interest in the Hebrew roots of our faith, dance as an art form, and a desire to incorporate the arts into worship. When Hallmark went through a restructuring, I was downsized, and we leapt at the chance to move to Colorado to attempt a living as full time artists.

We’ve been here some 12 years now, and it has been a wild roller coaster ride. In many ways, everything we had hoped to do when we moved here has come to pass, except that we didn’t intend to live in grinding poverty for so long. Many dear friends have helped us through the many low spots, for which we are very grateful. Mollie became quite adept at stretching money, squeezing water from a stone, and keeping several plates in the air without dropping any. Most recently, at nearly age 50, she went back to school and received certification as a holistic health coach from the Institute of Integrated Nutrition (IIN) based in Manhattan, New York. This coincides with another longstanding interest of hers, though she plans to continue her painting as well.

A few years ago, outside-of-the-box Mollie developed a process and technique using re-purposed house paint, and this is now her primary medium. She doesn’t like the stiffness of acrylic paint, and she likes the fact that she can get leftover house paint for free at the recycle center. So it’s actually a very green medium, (even when it’s red, yellow, or blue.) She works on a surface heavily textured with prior layers of paint. When our kids were smaller, at times she would have one of them painting next to her with the understanding that she would paint over their painting later. This was cuter than snot, and I wish I had gotten a picture of it.

People sometimes ask if we ever work on paintings together. Not really. Since we each approach painting quite differently now, that would probably be an exercise in frustration. We definitely critique each other’s work though, which makes us both better painters, and we are often in the studio together. She drives me crazy because she leaves her brushes standing in the paint water overnight, and she sings over the music; and I drive her crazy because I take over the whole studio so that there’s no place to even sit. She has this idea that she wants to paint enormous canvases, and I apparently have a practical bent that wants to know how we will transport them since they won’t fit in our van.

Image

Worship Painting: Left – “Tree of Life”, 36×36 inches; Right – “Storm”, 18×24 inches

A couple of weekends a month Mollie does something called “worship painting” at Rez Church, a local church known for its expressive worship. This means that she shows up with a blank canvas, (in her case a heavily textured one.) Then she executes a painting during the worship time. This is simply one more avenue by which worshipers may connect with God. Sometimes Mollie doesn’t know what she will paint before she arrives. Sometimes she prays for inspiration beforehand, and arrives with an image in mind, or perhaps a color feel. Often she is pleased to find that her painting speaks to someone in the congregation quite specifically.

Mollie is a lover of God above all else, and I love that about her. She has read the Bible completely through each year for the past 17 years or so. It has been sheer joy to have a life partner who is so in sync with me on so many levels, yet, like all good friends, she doesn’t tell me only what I want to hear. She is full of wisdom, insight, and character. She’s a disciplined, hard worker without being an unrelenting psycho.  It has not been easy for us to remain committed to work as fine artists in a prolonged economic downturn, but she has “learned the secrets of the Fire Swamp.” (Not that we prefer to live there.) We’ve often said things would’ve been easier had one of us been a doctor or a lawyer; except that neither of us wanted to be the doctor or lawyer. So my guess is we’ll keep doing this for as long as we can.

Image

Commissioned work by Molle Walker Freeman
Left – “Much Forgiven”, 16×20 inches; Right – “One Thing”, 16×20 inches

Mollie has a better grasp of the English language than I do. Sometimes when she unexpectedly does something I like, I’ll say, “Wow. You’re, like, a dream wife!” She will always smile and correct me, “No, I am a dream wife.” So she is.

Image

Left – Mollie’s painting of me: “My Painter”, 24×24 inches,oil
Right – My painting of Mollie: “Dread Head”, 12×16 inches, oil

You can read Mollie’s blogs, (which are less lengthy than mine,) at:
http://www.MollieSong.wordpress.com  (health)
http://www.repurposefulpainter.com (art)

7 comments on “Did I Mention That My Wife is a Great Painter?

  1. Gayle Honeycutt says:

    Mr Freeman, What a lovely tribute to Mollie. You are a dear man and I am grateful that the Lord had our paths cross so many years ago. I am grateful for you investing in my family.

  2. Tracy Nichols says:

    Beautiful art! Reading this made me smile and makes me so thankful we know you guys! It’s inspiring that Mollie’s read the Bible through for the last 17 years and that she IS your dream wife. 🙂 You guys are so rich in faith, family, creativity, kindness, friendship, and joyfullness – the really important things! Many Blessings!

  3. Tracy – I absolutely agree. If I could replace anything you listed and insert “money” instead, I wouldn’t do it. (Although I do like to hope that an artist can make money too… Before he/she dies.) Thanks for your friendship and support!

  4. Judith Sutton says:

    Scott, prepare for a “blast from the past”. Go back to ERBC, youth choir, “Celebrate Life”, with three unusual kings, and remember your choir director. I have so enjoyed reading and looking
    at your history and your pictures. We always knew that your intentions were to be an artist, and
    it is so enjoyable to see the results of all that ambition. Do you sell your paintings? If you’re on
    FB, would you please “friend” me so that I can keep up with you. Congratulations on your family and your career.

    • So great to re-connect with you, Judith! You might be surprised how much I have thought of you over the years, since you were my only HS choir teacher, (because I wouldn’t have been caught dead in a school choir class in HS.) It turns out that, even though my wife and I are both visual artists, 4 of our kids turned out to very fine vocalists, and interested in music, dance and theater, much to our delight. (One son came within a hair’s breadth of majoring in musical theatre in college.) So Mollie and I have spent quite a few hours over the past 12 years enjoying HS concerts and theater productions. And even though none of our children have ever seen Celebrate Life, they know the 3 kings song, because I can’t help singing it (with that goofy falsetto) around Christmastime.

      I don’t think I’ve ever expressed my thanks for your forbearance and investment in my creative life during my HS years, so, “THANK YOU!” I now very much appreciate how you enriched my life.

Please share your thoughts...

